Yesterday I bought the biggest cauliflower I have ever seen. It weighs 7 pounds, 12 ounces. Cauliflower is in season, so it cost only $1.99. That’s $1.99 total, not $1.99 a pound. I’m leaving on a trip in one week. Just how am I going to do away with an 8-pound cauliflower in 1 week? Stay tuned for recipes.

Cauliflower with Pasta Shells

Today’s recipe was an adaptation of one I found in Pasta Harvest by Janet Fletcher, one of my all-time favorite cookbooks.

I sauted a chopped onion with a few strips of bacon (also cut small) until the onion was browned and the bacon was (almost) crispy. Meanwhile, I cut 1/8 of the cauliflower (about 1 pound) into 1″ pieces and cooked it in the microwave for 4-1/2 minutes. While all that was happening, I had 1/2 pound of pasta shells boiling. When everything was ready, I drained the pasta and tossed everything into a bowl with grated parmesan cheese and some leftover cream I found in the freezer. Super simple. Super good

1 pound down, 7 pounds  to go. Except that it made enough for 2-3 days, so maybe I haven’t made as big a dent in it as I thought. Shared some with the grad student who lives with me.  I wonder if this will freeze well….

